About Collective Energy

Collective Energy is a specialist division within Collective Architecture, established in 2020, to offer key services and advice around how to make buildings, places, processes and communities more sustainable and effective.

We work with clients, consultants and collaborators to develop their projects, methods and ideas to be climate neutral, socially sustainable and holistic. This includes meeting the necessary drive to Net Zero Carbon, developing regenerative and circular models, reducing energy demands, taking a fabric first approach and closing the performance gap.

Key services provided are:

Passivhaus design services:

Fully accredited Passivhaus design services for all building types, scales and locations.

Circular economy consultancy:

Holistic consultancy services on the benefits and opportunities of the circular economy in construction.

Building performance services:

Range of specialist services and strategies to determine and assess building/site performance and compliance for new and existing.

The urgency with which the construction industry – and society at large - must address the climate emergency and wider sustainability is critical. At Collective Energy we apply skill, ingenuity and creativity to meet this need.


The Collective Energy team works across Scotland on a wide variety of projects, from small bespoke project installations to large scale regenerations. They have specialist skills in several areas, most notably Passivhaus design Circular Economy Consultancy and Building Performance.

Director Chris Stewart leads the Collective Energy team in the field of Circular Economy and Deconstruction. He is the co-founding director of Collective Architecture and established the practice based on principles of sustainability and participation. He is a key member of Scottish Ecological Design Association and the RIAS Sustainability Working Group. EXPAND

Architect Rupert Daly has been instrumental in developing and leading Collective Energy’s work and energy consultancy services. He has been a qualified passivhaus designer since 2013 and leads the Collective Energy team in the field of Passivhaus design and Building Performance. EXPAND

Technologist Tony Zareni is EXPAND

Technologist Tom Warren is EXPAND

Rupert Daly Rupert Daly - Architect, Passivhaus Architect Email
Chris Stewart Chris Stewart - Director / Architect / Circular Economy Adviser Email
Tom Warren Tom Warren - Architectural Technologist / Circular Economy Adviser Email
Tony Zanieri Tony Zanieri - Architectural Technologist / Passivhaus Designer Email


We are not currently recruiting for new staff. We are, however, always keen to hear from exceptional and enthusiastic applicants who have excellent design and technical ability.

You can submit your CV to recruitment@collectivearchitecture.co.uk

Due to the high number of applications we receive, we cannot guarantee that we will be able to respond to each one on an individual basis.

Collective Architecture is committed to being transparent about how it handles your personal information, to protect the privacy and security of your personal data and to meeting its data protection obligations under the General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”) and the Data Protection Act 2018. You will find our full GDPR privacy notice for applicants below.

GDPR Privacy Notice for Applicants
GDPR Privacy Notice for Applicants Download PDF


Click on pdf icon to download

Mipim 2016 with AJ Architecture Tomorrow
Mipim 2016 with AJ Architecture Tomorrow Download PDF
Re-Connecting Download PDF
Re-Populating Download PDF
Re-Establishing Download PDF
Re-Using Download PDF
Re-Cycling Download PDF

Accreditations, Certifications and Specialisms


Chris Stewart - RIAS Sustainability Accredition


Cathy Houston - Masters in Sustainable Architecture


UKAS ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management
UKAS ISO 14001 Environmental Management
We are working towards: B Corp Certification

Certified Drone Pilot:

Drone Licence with Permission for Commercial Operation (CAA): Connor Milton

Certified Passive House Architects / Designers:

Rupert Daly
Tony Zanieri



Glasgow Institute of Architects
Winner - Sustainability and Conservation Award
Bells Street Stables


CIH Scotland
Excellence in Regeneration
Anderston Phase 4&5

Glasgow Institute of Architects
Winner - Sustainable Award
Dougrie Terrace

AJ Retrofit Award
Finalist - Cultural Project
Paisley: The Secret Collection


Glasgow Institute of Architects
Commendation - Conservation Category
Paisley Community Safety Hub

Scottish Civic Trust Awards - My Place Award
Highly Commended
Glasgow Women's Library


Scottish Design Awards
Sustainable Design Award - Commendation
Garscube Road and Hopehill Road


Scottish Design Awards
Sustainable Design Award - Commendation
Garscube Road and Hopehill Road

Social Home Awards
Environmental Excellence - Commendation
Garscube Road and Hopehill Road


Glasgow Institute of Architects
Residential Category - Commendation
Castle Street, Rothesay

Herald Property Awards
Property Innovation of the Year
Govan Gateway

Scottish Design Awards
Sustainable Design Award - Commendation
Garscube Road and Hopehill Road


Sustainable Social Housing Consultancy Of the Year
Finailist - Collective Architecture


Glasgow Institute of Architects
Sustainability Award
Collective Architecture

Sustainable Social Housing Consultancy Of the Year - Finalist
Collective Architecture


Barmulloch Tenants’ and Residents’ Association

Blochairn Housing Association
Clyde Gateway
Collective Gallery
East Dunbartonshire Council
Fyne Homes
Glasgow and Clyde Valley Green Network Partnership
Glasgow City Council
Glasgow Housing Association
Govanhill Housing Association
Home Group Ltd
Hub South West
Hub West
Keepmoat Regeneration
Kier Scotland
Lanarkshire Housing Association
Link Group
Loretto Housing Association
Maryhill Housing Association
North Lanarkshire Council
Parkhead Housing Association
Partick Housing Association
Port of Leith Housing Association
Queens Cross Housing Association
Robertson Partnership
Sanctuary Homes
Sanctuary Scotland Housing Association
Scottish Canals
North Lanarkshire Council
Tayport Community Trust
The City of Edinburgh Council
West of Scotland Housing Association
Wheatley Group
Zero Waste Scotland


Our staff are involved in a number of areas of research through practice and teaching;


Woodside Multi Storey Flats - 'Fresh-R' MVHR Testing